top of page

Old Television Cabinet Makeover

Television Cabinet Makeover

I thought it would be a good idea to paint this old Television cabinet in a Dark Charcoal Grey, to compliment the rest of my now growing grey obsession. I'm kind of bored with everything brown, but I can’t guarantee that it will last for long. Grey and Mint is currently my flavour of the month, but my taste do change with the seasons.

What I used for this transformation:

  • Old Cloth

  • Old Towel

  • Screw Driver

  • Palm Sander

  • Rust-Oleum Chalked ultra matt paint in Charcoal

  • Paintbrush or craft roller

  • Old plastic plate

  • Chrome Spray

  • Laser cut inserts

  • White spray paint

  • Quick set Glue

  • Furniture polish (Optional)

Clean your cabinet with a damp cloth. Make sure to remove dust and dirt from all corners. A small paintbrush is useful to remove dirt from hard to reach areas. Unscrew all handles and knobs before cleaning. I also took my doors of, simply because I could not reach the insides with my paintbrush.

Dry properly with an old towel.

If your item have loose flakes of old varnish or paint, it is a good idea to remove any flaky bits with a palm sander or a piece of sanding paper. Otherwise you can paint directly over the existing layer of paint or varnish. This paint can be used on wood, metal, ceramic, glass, canvas and more. It is a good idea to always read the instructions.

Also wear a mask and gloves when sanding or working with chemicals.

I’m impressed with the Rust-Oleum Chalked paint. I used only two coats for a perfect coverage.

Pour a small amount of paint into a flat plastic plate or paint tray. Don’t use more than half a cup at one time. The paint thicken after a short while, but can be thinned with a few drops of water.

You can use a paintbrush, but a small sponge roller do the job in half the time. Leave to dry properly after the first coat. Then apply a second coat if necessary. If you don't leave the paint to dry properly, the first layer might sometimes lift when adding a second layer. Leave for at least an hour in a warm spot.

I left my cabinet to dry overnight, simply because I’ve decided to add a coat of wax. I used a soft beeswax over my dry paint. You have to work quickly if you decide to use wax. Although, I don’t think this product is made to be covered with wax. You can get a Chalked Protective Topcoat to seal the paint, but I like the wax look. So I worked in small circular movements, and reworked the wax until it gave me a smooth covered look. It did take a lot of wax, but the end result is beautiful. And the wax protects the paint from stains and watermarks left by unwanted water glasses.

I spray painted my drawer handles and knobs with a chrome spray before I screw them back on.

I do own a laser cutter, so I cut two MDF panels to size, spray paint them white and glue them on the door panels with a quick set glue.

The end


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page